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Appealing a Decision to the Labor Commissioner or Appeals Board

After the Motion for Review is referred for review, the file will be studied by
the office of General Counsel and presented to the Commissioner or Appeals
Boards. The Commissioner or Appeals Board may affirm, amend, modify or

reverse the Administrative Law Judge's Order or return the case to the Judge

for further proceedings or findings.

Using the Court Systems

You have the right to appeal the final ruling of the Labor Commission to the
Utah Court of Appeals with a Notice of Appeal. You must file the Notice of
Appeal within 30 days of the date on the Commission's written decision. The
Court of Appeals may hear oral arguments in the case (no new evidence will
be considered) and may affirm, amend, modify or reverse the Commission's
decision or may even return the case to the Commission for further
proceedings or findings.

You may appeal the case to the Utah Supreme Court. However, the claim
may be heard only at the Court's discretion.

Enforcing the Payment of Benefits

If payment of benefits is awarded to you, but the carrier does not pay, you
may enforce the award by initiating collection proceedings in the District
Court system. An abstract of the Judgment may be obtained from the Labor
Commission for filing by your attorney with the County Clerk. If you do not
have an attorney, you may contact the General Counsel of the Labor
Commission for advice on how to proceed.

If you have questions, call the Labor Commission at 530-6800 or use the
statewide toll free number 1-800-530-5090.

Employee’s Guide to a Workers’ Compensation Hearing

Nearly all workers' compensation claims in Utah are settled to the
satisfaction of the employee, employer and workers' compensation carrier. In
a few cases, an employee is

insurance carrier. If the
employee decides to do this,
the employee can challenge
the decision by applying for a
hearing with the Adjudication
Division of the Labor
Commission. This brochure
offers a guide to the
Adjudication Division hearing
process.
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Do You Need Legal Representation?

Only you can decide if you need an attorney. We neither require nor
discourage legal representation. However, in complex cases, you may be at a
disadvantage without legal counsel. An attorney is the only person allowed to
charge a fee to represent you. Attorney fees are fixed by the Labor
Commission and are contingent, which means the attorney is paid only if you
win. The attorney fees are deducted from your award if you win.

The Hearing Process May Include Four Levels:

e Adjudication Division of the Labor Commission Evidentiary Hearing
e Labor Commissioner or Appeals Board Review

e Utah Court of Appeals

e Utah Supreme Court

If all parties agree with the decision at any of the hearing levels, the decision
is final. If not satisfied, you, the employer or the workers' compensation
carrier may appeal the decision to the next level.



Requesting a Hearing Before the Adjudication Division Steps:

1. Obtain, either in person, by mail or from the internet, an Application
for Hearing from the Industrial Accidents Division
2. Fill in each line on the form thoroughly
3. Supply the following supporting documents:
o Summary of Medical Record
o List of medical providers for previous 15 years
o Original notarized Authorization for Release of Medical
Record for each provider listed
o Submit Application for Hearing and all supporting
documents to the Adjudication Division

Upon receiving your Application for Hearing and supporting documents, the
Adjudication Division will send a copy of the application and documents to
the employer and the employer's insurance carrier. The carrier or employer
has 30 days to answer your claim. The Adjudication Division will schedule
an Evidentiary Hearing. Due to the Division's heavy caseload, the hearing
may not take place for as long as 4-5 months. During this period, the parties
may exchange information through the discovery process.

Adjudication Division Evidentiary Hearing

The Evidentiary Hearing is a formal hearing similar to a court hearing.
Testimony is taken under oath and evidence is presented. Hearings are held
in the Labor Commission Salt Lake City office or in Parowan for residents of
Southern Utah. Your case will be heard by an Administrative Law Judge.

Preparation for an Evidentiary Hearing

e Prepare thoroughly and carefully

e Arrange to have all documents and medical reports and witnesses, if
needed, at the hearing

e Know the exact dates you lost from work because of injury

e Prepare to present pictures and diagrams of the work area if needed

e Arrange for subpoenas through the Administrative Law Judge if
needed, but remember that witness fees are paid by the person
requesting the subpoena.

At the Evidentiary Hearing

e State you position and present evidence, documents and witness
statements
e Bring witnesses if needed to prove issues which are in dispute

The Administrative Law Judge will not announce a decision at the hearing,
but will issue a written decision that is mailed to the parties. The Judge may
refer your case to a Medical Panel for review of disputed medical issues that
arise during the Evidentiary Hearing. Medical Panel physicians may request
to examine you. The Labor
Commission will pay for
the Medical Panel review
and medical examination.

The Medical Panel's report
will be mailed to you, the
employer and the workers'
compensation carrier by
certified letter. Objections
to the panel report may be
filed within 15 days from
the date of the certified
letter. The objection will be
considered and ruled on by
the Judge as part of a final
order issued after
evaluating the case in light
of the panel's report.

Hearing Room — Utah Labor Commission

Filing a Motion for
Review

If dissatisfied with the decision of the Administrative Law Judge, you may
file a Motion for Review within 30 days of the date of the Order.

The Administrative Law Judge will refer the case for review to the Labor
Commissioner or Appeals Board.



