The Utah Minimum Wage Act outlines the requirements for employers to pay minimum wage, as well as what exemptions can be made. The law also lists the record keeping requirements and applicable penalties for violation of the law. Administrative rules outline additional requirements for individuals earning tips.
The minimum wage rate is $7.25/hour:
Minors under the age of 18 must be paid the minimum wage in effect at the time, although employers may pay them $4.25 during the first 90 days of their employment.
Tipped employees (adults and minors) may be paid $2.13 per hour so long as the tips they earn bring them up to the minimum wage.
Certain exemptions from the State minimum wage coverage apply. For more information, please contact the Wage Claim Unit at (801) 530-6801 or firstname.lastname@example.org
We welcome your questions or commentsUtah Labor Commission/UALD
P.O. Box 146630
160 East 300 South, 3rd Floor
Salt Lake City, UT 84111